Umbertouched Release & Review

umber.png

Novel Information:


In the stunning sequel to Rosemarked, UMBERTOUCHED (Hyperion | On Sale November 6, 2018) by New York Times bestselling author Livia Blackburne, healer Zivah and warrior Dineas fight to defend their homes from the empire. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi, this epic fantasy novel delves into complex ethical dilemmas and has palpable tension between the two romantic leads.

The mission was a failure. Even though Zivah and Dineas discovered a secret that could bring down the empire, their information is useless without proof. Now, with their cover blown and their quest abandoned, their only remaining hope is to get home before Ampara brings the full might of its armies against their peoples.

As Shidadi and Dara alike prepare for war, Zivah and Dineas grapple with the toll of their time in the capital. After fighting alongside the Amparans against his own kin, can Dineas convince the Shidadi—and himself—where his loyalties lie? After betraying her healer’s vows in Sehmar City, can Zivah find a way to redeem herself—especially when the Dara ask her to do the unthinkable? And after reluctantly falling in love, what will the two do with their lingering feelings, now that the Dineas from Sehmar City is gone forever?

Time is running out for all of them, but especially Zivah, whose plague symptoms surface once again. Now, she must decide how she’ll define the life she has left. Together, healer and warrior must find the courage to save their people, expose the truth, and face the devastating consequences headed their way.


Review:

If you have been following me for awhile you know that I adore Rosemarked, the first book. Umbertouched continues right after the first book ends and keeps up the suspense. As the cover suggests this book is more about umbertouched and the ways to become so. Zivah and Dineas have escaped the capital but not the continent. This follows their progress back to their homeland and what happens afterwards. Can they still fit in and where is their place now.
I enjoyed the relationship between Zivah and Dineas and how that continued to develop. The stress of being back home and back to their old lives was well thought out. The fighting and battle was interesting as well. I liked how each part from the first book to the very last page of this intertwined. Dineas’s split personality is well documented and the problems that came from losing his memories in the first are seen.
My only problem was the ending. Is this a duology or will there be a third. I feel like if it is only two there is missing a key wrap up at the end. It feels incomplete. I do not know if that is what the author is going for but I feel a bit underwhelmed. That being said I think if you read the first you need to read this one. It is well worth it!


Author Info:

New York Times best-selling author LIVIA BLACKBURNE wrote her first novel while researching the neuroscience of reading at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Since then, she’s switched to full time writing, which also involves getting into people’s heads but without the help of a three tesla MRI scanner. She is also the author of Midnight Thief (an Indies Introduce New Voices selection), Daughter of Dusk, and Rosemarked, the companion to this book.

Livia Blackburne Website

Livia’s Social Handles: Twitter |Instagram |  Facebook  | Wattpad | Add it on Goodreads

2 comments

  1. I was pretty underwhelmed by Umbertouched sadly, and I am forever a huge huge fan of Rosemarked. I think this series as a whole brings something so original to the world of YA but some of that specialness was missing from Umbertouched. Can’t wait to see what Livia writes next though!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s